of Stoney Noell, Owner and Creative Director of Epic Life Creative, A Graphic Design Company

Psalm 125

1 Those who trust in the Lord are as secure as Mount Zion; they will not be defeated but will endure forever.
2 Just as the mountains surround Jerusalem,so the Lord surrounds his people, both now and forever.

The Lord surrounds His people. A beautiful phrase… but how often do we live life with an absence of this reality?

What kind of change would it bring to believe, truly believe the Lord fully surrounds us… I have never seen the mountains of Jerusalem, but I have been awe struck by the towering expanse of mountains in Colorado. Any time I think of mountains I see those. Standing in the middle of them, turning and looking in every direction and seeing a mountain range fully surround me. It is a sight I have yet to forget. It’s blue and snow tipped peaks are etched in to a loved memory so deeply I can close my eyes and still feel the warmth and safety of being enclosed by such strength. But it is a memory and I have not seen them in almost 10 years.

Amazing. Seeing this sight only but a few times in my youth has left a mark in my soul I will never forget.

… How often have I seen without question, the Lord surrounding me… The peace the enveloped me when my brother died. The courage that flooded seeing my child hood home burn to nothing but rubble. The grace given me when I have been so wayward in sin. The restoration of true life, redeemed from worldliness.

And yet still, I forget the mountains that have sourrounded me. A storm blows and I fear. An old pattern seeks to rise again and I sucume.

We must remember the mountains. We must see storms and temptation as signs pointing us back to our redemption! In the rememberance there is power. There is security.

One response

  1. This is the most beautiful entry you have ever written!!! You never cease to amaze me!!! I am so proud of you!!! I love you, Mom

    December 7, 2008 at 10:21 pm

Leave a Reply

