of Stoney Noell, Owner and Creative Director of Epic Life Creative, A Graphic Design Company

You turn things upside down, as if the potter were thought to be like the clay! Shall what is formed say to him who formed it, “He did not make me?” Can the pot say of the potter, “He knows nothing?”  —ISAIAH 29:16, NIV

God is the only one who truly knows us. Even in as much as we say we know ourselves how often do we glance over our past and say “how did I end up here” ?

A lot of times we ask in amazement and joy! For example, that I am doing art now and design for a living! I NEVER saw that coming, and yet each day I feel so blessed to be doing something I NEVER dreamed I would be and feel SO surrounded by God’s resounding “YES” as I do it.

And still there are other times, when a thought or an action stands up in our day, as an unexpected ugliness and screams. We must in those times run to our father who knows us completely. Ask him, “what is this?”, “where did it come from?”, “what are You showing me in this?”

May we be the pliable clay.


3 responses

  1. autumnautumnautumn

    Thoughtful blog.

    “O Lord, how manifold are Your works! In wisdom You have made them all. The earth is full of Your possessions.”

    And interesting application from Psalm 102:18-22
    “This will be written for the generation to come, that a people YET TO BE CREATED (“But now, O Lord, you are our Father; we are the clay, and You are the potter; and all we are the work of Your hand.”) may praise the Lord. For He looked down from the height of His sanctuary; from heaven the Lord viewed the earth (“For He knows our frame; He remembers that we are dust.”), to HEAR THE GROANING of the prisoner, (“I said, “O my God, do not take me away in the midst of my days;”) to release those appointed to death (He [Christ] Himself likewise shared in the same [flesh], that through death He might destroy him who had the power of death…and release those who through fear of death were all their life subject to bondage.), to declare the name of the Lord in Zion… ”

    “Therefore we must give the more earnest heed to the things we have heard, lest we drift away.”

    November 3, 2008 at 12:29 pm

  2. You Potter–me clay–You Potter–me clay!!!

    November 5, 2008 at 10:52 am

  3. so encouraging!

    November 6, 2008 at 2:57 pm

Leave a Reply

